Almost all the internet users trust Google for their services. Now the hackers are exploiting this trust. People who want to be in touch with the latest events they activate the Google News Alert. But recently a new virus emerged by the name Google News Alert.
The virus is sent to the victim in the as email same as that of the Google news alert. When the victim opens the mail there will be an article with a link. If the victim clicks on the link, he will be taken to a website. Then a pop-up will come informing that your system is infected with a virus. For removing the virus you have to download some anti viral softwares. The pop-up contains provision for downloading the anti-viral software. If the user allows the computer to download the anti-viral software will result in the installation of the computer virus in the victim's system.
Due to the increasing number of cyber attack it is hard to keep the computer away from the viruses. However taking prevention will reduce the number of attacks to a great extend. So be careful in using the internet. You will get a detailed idea of the above post from:
The blog contains information about different types of viruses and properties of viruses.
Friday, April 17, 2009
Google News Alert Virus
Virus attack on DPS Computer System
One of the computer systems of the Texas Department of Public Safety was infected by a virus. The virus affected internal communication systems and also some of the external communication system. The external service that got affected includes the issuance of the Texas drivers' licenses. Fortunately the database on which Texas police agencies depend for checking for identities, warrants and criminal records is unaffected by the virus. The authorities reported that about 80 percent of the offices have had the computer service restored.
Monday, March 2, 2009
Facebook under attack of two malware applications
Two malware applications are suspected to have hit Facebook in the duration of a week, possibly reading thousands of personal details. The latest application is said to be posting notifications on user's profile that say, "[Name on friend list] has just reported you to Facebook for violating our terms of service - this is your official warning. Click here to find out why you were reported." This statement will surely make the victim to click on the link. The link in the notification leads to an application named "Facebook - closing down" which, once installed, will send the same message to every one of the users' friends The
first application hit users over the weekend, sending out notifications to users that one of their friends had "faced some errors" when checking their profile. Users were prompted to click a link to view the error message.Facebook applications need to ask the users' permission before they can access the personal information on their profile, but the rogue application redesigned the permission-requesting page so users did not know what they were clicking on. The application then suggested that users check their friends profiles for errors, helping the application to spread.
first application hit users over the weekend, sending out notifications to users that one of their friends had "faced some errors" when checking their profile. Users were prompted to click a link to view the error message.Facebook applications need to ask the users' permission before they can access the personal information on their profile, but the rogue application redesigned the permission-requesting page so users did not know what they were clicking on. The application then suggested that users check their friends profiles for errors, helping the application to spread.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)